HighDots Forums  

Re: The post headed "..."

Websites/HTML pages critique & reviews Discuss and review existing WWW material (alt.html.critique)


Discuss Re: The post headed "..." in the Websites/HTML pages critique & reviews forum.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
Trev
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: The post headed "..." - 04-28-2007 , 01:06 PM






It's been running for weeks.

What's it about?
--

Trev (Milnrow, UK)

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old   
mbstevens
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: The post headed "..." - 04-28-2007 , 07:35 PM






On Sat, 28 Apr 2007 18:06:25 +0100, Trev wrote:

Quote:
It's been running for weeks.

What's it about?
A spammer that is terrifically stupid, if they think they will get any
business from this tiny group. It occurs to me that they have in mind for
it to end up somewhere that google will index it, upping their ranking.
Looks a lot like blog spam.




Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old   
mbstevens
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: The post headed "..." - 04-28-2007 , 08:18 PM



On Sat, 28 Apr 2007 18:06:25 +0100, Trev wrote:

Quote:
It's been running for weeks.

What's it about?
It's at best free host.org.
I just surfed in, and they've closed them down:

"This domain was closed due to terms violation.
This site has been banned. We apologize for the webmaster who could not
control him/herself."





Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old   
mbstevens
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: The post headed "..." - 04-28-2007 , 09:13 PM



On Sun, 29 Apr 2007 00:31:09 +0000, Beauregard T. Shagnasty wrote:

Quote:
It's at best free host.org.
I just surfed in, and they've closed them down:

The post is so regular though, it acts like a bot.
Yep. Pretty clear that the poster would not pass a Turing test.



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old   
Frank Vest
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: The post headed "..." - 04-28-2007 , 10:55 PM



mbstevens wrote:

Quote:
On Sun, 29 Apr 2007 00:31:09 +0000, Beauregard T. Shagnasty wrote:


It's at best free host.org.
I just surfed in, and they've closed them down:

The post is so regular though, it acts like a bot.


Yep. Pretty clear that the poster would not pass a Turing test.
I've been reporting each new post for a couple of days now. We shall see
if the IP (it.net) starts blocking the robot posts. That is what they
are. If nothing else, I'll fill up their inbound.


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old   
mbstevens
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: The post headed "..." - 04-28-2007 , 11:05 PM



On Sun, 29 Apr 2007 02:55:01 +0000, Frank Vest wrote:

Quote:
Yep. Pretty clear that the poster would not pass a Turing test.

I've been reporting each new post for a couple of days now. We shall see
if the IP (it.net) starts blocking the robot posts. That is what they
are. If nothing else, I'll fill up their inbound.
Good man.




Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.