HighDots Forums  

Excerpt from an amusing spam message

Website Design comp.infosystems.www.authoring.site-design


Discuss Excerpt from an amusing spam message in the Website Design forum.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
Stan Brown
 
Posts: n/a

Default Excerpt from an amusing spam message - 07-19-2004 , 10:07 AM






Something calling itself "Rockwell Data Corp" wants $400 a year --
not $400, $400 a year -- to submit my Web page to search engines. It
almost falls in the category of "if you're stupid enough to fall for
this, you deserve to be taken."

I had to chuckle at the come-on:

Quote:
YOU may be unaware of this Shocking fact:
Your web site designer and your host are NOT responsible for getting
your web site seen! Yes, they may submit your site to a few search
engines periodically but to stay on the Search Engines and at the TOP
is an aggressive business.
"An aggressive business" -- so they want me to pay them $400 a year
to do things that will probably make Google blacklist my site!

I don't believe I've ever submitted either of my Web sites to
Google, yet there they are.

--
Stan Brown, Oak Road Systems, Tompkins County, New York, USA
http://OakRoadSystems.com/
HTML 4.01 spec: http://www.w3.org/TR/html401/
validator: http://validator.w3.org/
CSS 2 spec: http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-CSS2/
2.1 changes: http://www.w3.org/TR/CSS21/changes.html
validator: http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old   
Beauregard T. Shagnasty
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Excerpt from an amusing spam message - 07-19-2004 , 10:52 AM






Quoth the raven Stan Brown:

Quote:
"An aggressive business" -- so they want me to pay them $400 a year
to do things that will probably make Google blacklist my site!
One of my clients received a similar spam a couple of months after I
finished his site. He thought it sounded like a good idea, signed up,
then emailed to tell me how clever he was.

It took better than a year for me to get Google to recognize even his
domain name.

Quote:
I don't believe I've ever submitted either of my Web sites to
Google, yet there they are.
Same for my other sites.

--
-bts
-This space intentionally left blank.


Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.