HighDots Forums  

Strange spam ?

Search Engine Optimization Discussion about SEO/Search Engine Optimization (alt.internet.search-engines)


Discuss Strange spam ? in the Search Engine Optimization forum.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
Eric Johnston
 
Posts: n/a

Default Strange spam ? - 06-02-2004 , 02:51 PM






This morning I had 24 hits from 66.6.223.190
which appeared to come from links on pages like as follows (my x x inserted)
at approx 10 minute intervals.

66.6.223.190 - - [02/Jun/2004:05:58:19 +0100] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 12702
"http://www.myhikxari.com/?discount-dental-insurxance" "Mozilla/5.0
(compatible; Konqueror/2.2.2; Linux 2.2.19; i686)"

http://www.nebrijaxschool.com/?remote-accexss

http://www.onlinepharmxacyprescripti...on-medications
etc etc

All hits were from different urls but all vaguely similar and did not appear
"human" as the visitor never went further. Since I tend to go back to
investigate all novel incoming pages am I being conned into increasing the
traffic to these sites ? Do my return hits help these pages in the Google
if I have the toolbar on ? Does anyone else see this ? Any ideas welcome.
Best regards, Eric.



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old   
Philip Ronan
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Strange spam ? - 06-04-2004 , 09:44 AM






On 04.6.2 7:51 PM, Eric Johnston wrote:

Quote:
This morning I had 24 hits from 66.6.223.190
which appeared to come from links on pages like as follows (my x x inserted)
at approx 10 minute intervals.

66.6.223.190 - - [02/Jun/2004:05:58:19 +0100] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 12702
"http://www.myhikxari.com/?discount-dental-insurxance" "Mozilla/5.0
(compatible; Konqueror/2.2.2; Linux 2.2.19; i686)"

http://www.nebrijaxschool.com/?remote-accexss

http://www.onlinepharmxacyprescripti...escription-med
ications
etc etc

All hits were from different urls but all vaguely similar and did not appear
"human" as the visitor never went further. Since I tend to go back to
investigate all novel incoming pages am I being conned into increasing the
traffic to these sites ? Do my return hits help these pages in the Google
if I have the toolbar on ? Does anyone else see this ? Any ideas welcome.
Best regards, Eric.


This is called "referer spam". What they're trying to do is get themselves
listed among the "top referers" in your webstats folder.

You could try doing a WHOIS on their IP numbers and reporting them. You
could also block them with a .htaccess file in your root folder.

This page explains things a bit more:
http://www.spywareinfo.com/articles/referer_spam/

Phil

--
Philip Ronan
phil.ronanzzz (AT) virgin (DOT) net
(Please remove the "z"s if replying by email)




Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old   
Big Bill
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Strange spam ? - 06-04-2004 , 06:17 PM



On Fri, 04 Jun 2004 14:44:10 +0100, Philip Ronan
<phil.ronanzzz (AT) virgin (DOT) net> wrote:

Quote:
On 04.6.2 7:51 PM, Eric Johnston wrote:

This morning I had 24 hits from 66.6.223.190
which appeared to come from links on pages like as follows (my x x inserted)
at approx 10 minute intervals.

66.6.223.190 - - [02/Jun/2004:05:58:19 +0100] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 12702
"http://www.myhikxari.com/?discount-dental-insurxance" "Mozilla/5.0
(compatible; Konqueror/2.2.2; Linux 2.2.19; i686)"

http://www.nebrijaxschool.com/?remote-accexss

http://www.onlinepharmxacyprescripti...escription-med
ications
etc etc

All hits were from different urls but all vaguely similar and did not appear
"human" as the visitor never went further. Since I tend to go back to
investigate all novel incoming pages am I being conned into increasing the
traffic to these sites ? Do my return hits help these pages in the Google
if I have the toolbar on ? Does anyone else see this ? Any ideas welcome.
Best regards, Eric.



This is called "referer spam". What they're trying to do is get themselves
listed among the "top referers" in your webstats folder.
And this benefits them how? I'm not disagreeing, just curious.

BB

Quote:
You could try doing a WHOIS on their IP numbers and reporting them. You
could also block them with a .htaccess file in your root folder.

This page explains things a bit more:
http://www.spywareinfo.com/articles/referer_spam/

Phil


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old   
Big Bill
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Strange spam ? - 06-05-2004 , 07:15 AM



On Sat, 5 Jun 2004 01:12:55 +0200, "Martin Hagstrøm"
<mha (AT) NOSPAM (DOT) altavista.net> wrote:

Quote:
"Big Bill" <kruse (AT) cityscape (DOT) co.uk> skrev i en meddelelse
news:3so1c09bo52ki23ur2co0bl027phomivvg (AT) 4ax (DOT) com...
On Fri, 04 Jun 2004 14:44:10 +0100, Philip Ronan
phil.ronanzzz (AT) virgin (DOT) net> wrote:

This is called "referer spam". What they're trying to do is get themselves
listed among the "top referers" in your webstats folder.

And this benefits them how? I'm not disagreeing, just curious.

Some sites display "top referrers" or "last xx referrers".
This way the spammers get displayed on the those sites - and maybe they even get
some PR.
First I've heard of this. Thanks Martin.

BB


Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.