HighDots Forums  

Spammy SEO? or is Yahoo finally breaking the rules?

Search Engine Optimization Discussion about SEO/Search Engine Optimization (alt.internet.search-engines)


Discuss Spammy SEO? or is Yahoo finally breaking the rules? in the Search Engine Optimization forum.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
LuDi790
 
Posts: n/a

Default Spammy SEO? or is Yahoo finally breaking the rules? - 05-07-2004 , 11:08 AM






I'd received an email last week and finally a phone call message the other day.

The original email I received is here below the asterisks (*).

At first I was taken aback by it, but decided to write them since it does
mention "This is not a pay per click campaign" which would imply that it's from
Yahoo...and since who else could even do a PPC on Yahoo except them?

I then got a phone message and it seems to mention "First Placement for Yahoo &
MSN" (not sure)....Anyhow, I somehow doubt this is actually from Yahoo and it
may very well be from some spammy SEO looking to profit on the ploy of
misleading folks into believing they're actually from Yahoo.

I'm posting all of this because of all the hell that's been raised not that
long ago regarding guaranteed spots on Yahoo in exchange for money.

Anybody else receive this email? And, any other thoughts on this?

******************************************
ORIGINAL EMAIL:

Our company will now place any business with a qualified website as the
number one result for their respected search. This allows companies to be
placed above all other listings. This is not a pay per click campaign. If
you are interested in being first on YAHOO!, please contact us via e-mail to
find out if you qualify at websitesearchresults (AT) yahoo (DOT) com

Example:
Company: Expedia
URL: www.expedia.com.com
YAHOO Keyword: travel


Thank You,



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old   
Edward Kay
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Spammy SEO? or is Yahoo finally breaking the rules? - 05-07-2004 , 11:27 AM







"LuDi790" <ludi790 (AT) aol (DOT) com> wrote

Quote:
I'd received an email last week and finally a phone call message the other
day.

The original email I received is here below the asterisks (*).

At first I was taken aback by it, but decided to write them since it does
mention "This is not a pay per click campaign" which would imply that it's
from
Yahoo...and since who else could even do a PPC on Yahoo except them?

I then got a phone message and it seems to mention "First Placement for
Yahoo &
MSN" (not sure)....Anyhow, I somehow doubt this is actually from Yahoo and
it
may very well be from some spammy SEO looking to profit on the ploy of
misleading folks into believing they're actually from Yahoo.

I'm posting all of this because of all the hell that's been raised not
that
long ago regarding guaranteed spots on Yahoo in exchange for money.

Anybody else receive this email? And, any other thoughts on this?

******************************************
ORIGINAL EMAIL:

Our company will now place any business with a qualified website as the
number one result for their respected search. This allows companies to be
placed above all other listings. This is not a pay per click campaign. If
you are interested in being first on YAHOO!, please contact us via e-mail
to
find out if you qualify at websitesearchresults (AT) yahoo (DOT) com

Example:
Company: Expedia
URL: www.expedia.com.com
YAHOO Keyword: travel


Thank You,


It is not from Yahoo -- anyone can get a @yahoo.com email address, it is one
of their primary services. I'd classify it as Spam and file it accordingly.

Any reputable company would provide better contact details than just a
webmail account and would resort to sending unsolicited email in the first
place.


--
Edward Kay MEng (Hons) MBCS
IT and e-Business Manager
Science Marketing International Ltd., Gloucester, UK

http://www.labhut.com -- http://www.tabletdissolution.com




Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old   
LuDi790
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Spammy SEO? or is Yahoo finally breaking the rules? - 05-07-2004 , 11:31 AM



Quote:
It is not from Yahoo -- anyone can get a @yahoo.com email address
yes, I surmised that much....

....what upsets me is how they go about it all. You know, they mention PPC as IF
TO SAY: we're Yahoo, without actually saying it. It's a ploy, but I really hate
these kinds of folks. You know?


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old   
C.W.
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Spammy SEO? or is Yahoo finally breaking the rules? - 05-07-2004 , 01:13 PM



On 07 May 2004 15:31:07 GMT, ludi790 (AT) aol (DOT) com (LuDi790) wrote:

Quote:
It is not from Yahoo -- anyone can get a @yahoo.com email address

yes, I surmised that much....

...what upsets me is how they go about it all. You know, they mention PPC as IF
TO SAY: we're Yahoo, without actually saying it. It's a ploy, but I really hate
these kinds of folks. You know?
As a bit of trivia: Yahoo employees and/or departments, except one
entity named Yahoo Sheriff that delivers warning letters, use an
@yahoo-inc.com address instead of the @yahoo.com

Carol



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old   
LuDi790
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Spammy SEO? or is Yahoo finally breaking the rules? - 05-07-2004 , 01:40 PM



Quote:
As a bit of trivia: Yahoo employees and/or departments, except one
entity named Yahoo Sheriff that delivers warning letters, use an
@yahoo-inc.com address instead of the @yahoo.com
Yah, 'guess that's a good thing to know.


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old   
LuDi790
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Spammy SEO? or is Yahoo finally breaking the rules? - 05-09-2004 , 09:20 AM



Okay, as an end to my own topic, I'm posting the response I'd gotten from
Search Engine Spam Reporting at Yahoo!

*********************
Thanks for the report! Sounds to me like you spotted a ripoff.

Corporate addresses at Yahoo end with @yahoo-inc.com. Anyone can
get free email that ends in @yahoo.com. http://mail.yahoo.com/
Nobody here's named Christian Johnson and there's no group in Yahoo
called "Placement Services". We don't take payment for ranking in algorithmic
search.
And we would never willingly allow one company to monopolize the top 3
search results -- that's not fair to users.

So yeah, sounds bogus at every level.

I'll let the right people know. Thanks!

Search Engine Spam Reporting
Yahoo Corp.


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old   
Stacey
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Spammy SEO? or is Yahoo finally breaking the rules? - 05-09-2004 , 09:55 AM



"LuDi790" <ludi790 (AT) aol (DOT) com> wrote

Quote:
Okay, as an end to my own topic, I'm posting the response I'd gotten from
Search Engine Spam Reporting at Yahoo!

*********************
Thanks for the report! Sounds to me like you spotted a ripoff.

Corporate addresses at Yahoo end with @yahoo-inc.com. Anyone can
get free email that ends in @yahoo.com. http://mail.yahoo.com/
Nobody here's named Christian Johnson and there's no group in Yahoo
called "Placement Services". We don't take payment for ranking in
algorithmic
search.
And we would never willingly allow one company to monopolize the top 3
search results -- that's not fair to users.

So yeah, sounds bogus at every level.

I'll let the right people know. Thanks!

Search Engine Spam Reporting
Yahoo Corp.

Well, it looks like you did a good thing reporting them. Hopefully Yahoo can
put a stop to them. Here's in the States a lot of them are punishing
spammers. VA right now it is a felony to spam emails. They have already
caught 2 prescription( yep those Viagra ones) businesses. They were on the
news here.

Stacey

--

Stacey's Simple Stuff
Rag Rugs - Home Decor Accessories- Crocheted Crafts
http://www.staceyssimplestuff.com




Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old   
LuDi790
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Spammy SEO? or is Yahoo finally breaking the rules? - 05-09-2004 , 10:09 AM



Quote:
Well, it looks like you did a good thing reporting them. Hopefully Yahoo can
put a stop to them
Yah, thx Stacey. Hopefully they can.

btw, If I had a dollar for every Viagra spam I'd received in the past 6 months,
I'd be a rich man right now!




Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old   
Stacey
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Spammy SEO? or is Yahoo finally breaking the rules? - 05-09-2004 , 10:58 AM




"LuDi790" <ludi790 (AT) aol (DOT) com> wrote

Quote:
Well, it looks like you did a good thing reporting them. Hopefully Yahoo
can
put a stop to them

Yah, thx Stacey. Hopefully they can.

btw, If I had a dollar for every Viagra spam I'd received in the past 6
months,
I'd be a rich man right now!


Wouldn't we all? Well, not a rich man...but a rich person!:-)

Stacey




Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.