HighDots Forums  

This site has my content

Search Engine Optimization Discussion about SEO/Search Engine Optimization (alt.internet.search-engines)


Discuss This site has my content in the Search Engine Optimization forum.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
mogga
 
Posts: n/a

Default This site has my content - 11-07-2004 , 06:17 PM






www.leisurebuildings.co.uk/links/links/435

and redirects for me to my page.
On another machine it doesn't.

What's going on? Why are they doing that? How can I stop it?


--
Free stuff by post
http://www.freestuffbypost.co.uk

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old   
C.W.
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: This site has my content - 11-07-2004 , 06:55 PM






On Sun, 07 Nov 2004 23:17:29 +0000, mogga <di (AT) NOSPAMPLEASEmogga (DOT) com>
wrote:

Quote:
www.leisurebuildings.co.uk/links/links/435

and redirects for me to my page.
On another machine it doesn't.

What's going on? Why are they doing that? How can I stop it?
They are probably using a CGI-BIN or JS script to share links. Some,
well - most, of the time those won't show up as backlinks to your site
either.

It redirects to your page, as they are pulling up your content from
your site host's server through this script - just may have your
contents show up in a frame on their site so they can share their
site's affiliate links and such. Plus could be used in hopes of
hording their PR. *shrug*

Can try using the JavaScript snippet for breaking out of frames -
although it may not be 100% effective.

Carol


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old   
Gateway Farm
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: This site has my content - 11-07-2004 , 07:00 PM




"mogga" <di (AT) NOSPAMPLEASEmogga (DOT) com> wrote

Quote:
www.leisurebuildings.co.uk/links/links/435

and redirects for me to my page.
On another machine it doesn't.

What's going on? Why are they doing that? How can I stop it?


There have been reports of late of site hijacking via 302 or JS redirects.
The redirecting site seems to be getting the PR, credit for the links,
credit for the content, etc. The actual site gradually disappears from the
index as if it is getting a duplicate content penalty.

Reports have been made to both G and Y about this, but they have remained
strangely quiet.

It is my understanding that the SE's handling of the 302 is correct
according to standards, but I have not read the standards myself. So, the
SE's may not feel a great need to do anything about it.

There are other factors at play besides a simple redirect, but discretion
tells me that I probably don't want to go into too much detail in this NG.
Given some of the parasites around, I'd rather they go looking for the
information themselves rather than just giving it too them.

What to do about it? Contact the site owner, or the server owner and try to
work with them? I have heard of some that have cleared the problem by doing
their own redirect(s).

A php header call will do a 302 by default. This is too bad since many
tracking scripts use a header call. It appears that if the header call is
changed to a 301 the problem goes away.

John Merrell
Gateway Farm Alpacas
http://www.gateway-alpacas.com




Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old   
Laurie D. T. Mann
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: This site has my content - 11-07-2004 , 07:43 PM



The JavaScript at the site below always
breaks my pages out of frames that have
hijacked them:

http://www.thesitewizard.com/


Laurie D. T. Mann
Findable Sites
http://www.findablesites.com


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old   
Big Bill
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: This site has my content - 11-08-2004 , 03:57 AM



On Sun, 07 Nov 2004 23:17:29 +0000, mogga <di (AT) NOSPAMPLEASEmogga (DOT) com>
wrote:

Quote:
www.leisurebuildings.co.uk/links/links/435

and redirects for me to my page.
On another machine it doesn't.
On another machine it doesn't? Can you explain that a bit better
please Mogs?

BB

Quote:
What's going on? Why are they doing that? How can I stop it?
www.kruse.co.uk SEO (AT) kruse (DOT) demon.co.uk


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old   
mogga
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: This site has my content - 11-08-2004 , 09:23 AM



On Mon, 08 Nov 2004 08:57:36 GMT, Big Bill <kruse (AT) cityscape (DOT) co.uk>
wrote:

Quote:
On Sun, 07 Nov 2004 23:17:29 +0000, mogga <di (AT) NOSPAMPLEASEmogga (DOT) com
wrote:

www.leisurebuildings.co.uk/links/links/435

and redirects for me to my page.
On another machine it doesn't.

On another machine it doesn't? Can you explain that a bit better
please Mogs?

BB

What's going on? Why are they doing that? How can I stop it?

www.kruse.co.uk SEO (AT) kruse (DOT) demon.co.uk
OK I was checking where one of my other sites was in the SE rankings
for a phrase... this site showed up as number 4 in the ranks - their
url but my descipt and title.. so I clicked and it went straight to my
page - so I asked my beloved who is more technical than me what that
was all about and he checked on his machine (Which he reckons has the
main difference of having SP2 on) and it didn't happen - he got a page
on their site of a page about my site... with a link...

I wanted to get some ideas on what might be going on before I ring
this company and ask them to stop it...


--
Free stuff by post
http://www.freestuffbypost.co.uk


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old   
Big Bill
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: This site has my content - 11-08-2004 , 01:22 PM



On Mon, 08 Nov 2004 14:23:49 +0000, mogga <di (AT) NOSPAMPLEASEmogga (DOT) com>
wrote:

Quote:
On Mon, 08 Nov 2004 08:57:36 GMT, Big Bill <kruse (AT) cityscape (DOT) co.uk
wrote:

On Sun, 07 Nov 2004 23:17:29 +0000, mogga <di (AT) NOSPAMPLEASEmogga (DOT) com
wrote:

www.leisurebuildings.co.uk/links/links/435

and redirects for me to my page.
On another machine it doesn't.

On another machine it doesn't? Can you explain that a bit better
please Mogs?

BB

What's going on? Why are they doing that? How can I stop it?

www.kruse.co.uk SEO (AT) kruse (DOT) demon.co.uk

OK I was checking where one of my other sites was in the SE rankings
for a phrase... this site showed up as number 4 in the ranks - their
url but my descipt and title.. so I clicked and it went straight to my
page - so I asked my beloved who is more technical than me what that
was all about and he checked on his machine (Which he reckons has the
main difference of having SP2 on) and it didn't happen - he got a page
on their site of a page about my site... with a link...

I wanted to get some ideas on what might be going on before I ring
this company and ask them to stop it...
Well if you email my shiny self I'll run a check from here. Better put
FROM MOGGA in the subject else it'll get deep-sixed with the spam.

BB
www.kruse.co.uk SEO (AT) kruse (DOT) demon.co.uk


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old   
Tim Arnold
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: This site has my content - 11-09-2004 , 10:56 AM



Heres a link that may help with your problem:

http://www.chillingeffects.org/index.cgi



Google also has a link if you feel you have been violated and they
will take the offenders out of the database. I couldnt seem to find it
but it may be listed on the link above.


Tim

Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.