HighDots Forums  

Can someone explain this site for me please?

Search Engine Optimization Discussion about SEO/Search Engine Optimization (alt.internet.search-engines)


Discuss Can someone explain this site for me please? in the Search Engine Optimization forum.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
Big Bill
 
Posts: n/a

Default Can someone explain this site for me please? - 06-17-2005 , 07:45 AM






http://www.search-engine-optimizatio...sation_uk.html

It seems to take its content from related sites, mine included. Is
this a scraper site? I think this is maybe copyright infringement
time.

BB
--
www.kruse.co.uk/ seo (AT) kruse (DOT) demon.co.uk
seo that watches the river flow...
--

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old   
davidof
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Can someone explain this site for me please? - 06-17-2005 , 08:47 AM






Big Bill wrote:
Quote:
http://www.search-engine-optimizatio...sation_uk.html

It seems to take its content from related sites, mine included. Is
this a scraper site? I think this is maybe copyright infringement
time.
Google seems to love these kind of sites in its SERPs. I think they may
get away with copyright infringement under fair use - altough I can hear
the words "class action" here. I like the sneaky link masking so they
don't transfer PageRank.


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old   
WhoTurnedOffTheLights
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Can someone explain this site for me please? - 06-17-2005 , 10:29 AM




"Big Bill" <kruse (AT) cityscape (DOT) co.uk> wrote

Quote:
http://www.search-engine-optimizatio...sation_uk.html

It seems to take its content from related sites, mine included. Is
this a scraper site? I think this is maybe copyright infringement
time.

I'm still confused as to what constitutes a scraper site. I'd mentioned
something similar to someone elsewhere and they tried to explain how there's
a fine line between directories and scraper sites.

I could do without both since there's such a huge load of this crap on the
net these days....at least from what I've seen.




Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old   
Borek
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Can someone explain this site for me please? - 06-17-2005 , 01:54 PM



On Fri, 17 Jun 2005 16:29:27 +0200, WhoTurnedOffTheLights
<Lights (AT) light0987654321 (DOT) com> wrote:

Quote:
I'm still confused as to what constitutes a scraper site. I'd mentioned
something similar to someone elsewhere and they tried to explain how
there's
a fine line between directories and scraper sites.
any examples?

www.scraper-site-domain.ccom?

Best,
Borek
--
http://www.chembuddy.com - chemical calculators for labs and education
BATE - Base Acid Titration and Equilibria
program for pH calculations
CASC - Concentration and Solution Calculator
program for solution preparation and concentration conversions


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old   
mogga
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Can someone explain this site for me please? - 06-17-2005 , 04:24 PM



On Fri, 17 Jun 2005 14:47:42 +0200, davidof
<david.george (AT) g-dumpthisbit-mail (DOT) com> wrote:

Quote:
Big Bill wrote:
http://www.search-engine-optimizatio...sation_uk.html

It seems to take its content from related sites, mine included. Is
this a scraper site? I think this is maybe copyright infringement
time.

Google seems to love these kind of sites in its SERPs. I think they may
get away with copyright infringement under fair use - altough I can hear
the words "class action" here. I like the sneaky link masking so they
don't transfer PageRank.
That just means google is not very good at being a search engine. If
it wants to be a search-listing engine then it should rebrand itself.

If you feel they're infringing on your site then do the dmca route
with google.

The sooner it stops listing this sort of cr@p the better.

--
http://searchfreebies.co.uk/freebies/index.php
freebies blog


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old   
WhoTurnedOffTheLights
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Can someone explain this site for me please? - 06-17-2005 , 08:19 PM



"Borek" <borek (AT) parts (DOT) bpp.to.com.remove.pl> wrote

Quote:
On Fri, 17 Jun 2005 16:29:27 +0200, WhoTurnedOffTheLights
Lights (AT) light0987654321 (DOT) com> wrote:

I'm still confused as to what constitutes a scraper site. I'd mentioned
something similar to someone elsewhere and they tried to explain how
there's
a fine line between directories and scraper sites.

any examples?

www.scraper-site-domain.ccom?

Nope since I'd have to go digging just to find out where that one example
was that I'd mentioned to someone else.

In as far as directories are concerned, you wouldn't need my examples since
they're so quite abundant. There are plenty I see which will have a link to
my biggest site along with a paragraph snippet from it. Of course on that
same page will be many other sites listed containing similar information. I
mean, talk about total lack of originality!

'and remember, I'd said that I'm confused as to what a scraper site is. If
anybody would like to enlighten me then it'd be very welcomed. :-)




Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.