HighDots Forums  

IKEA? Spamming?

Search Engine Optimization Discussion about SEO/Search Engine Optimization (alt.internet.search-engines)


Discuss IKEA? Spamming? in the Search Engine Optimization forum.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
phil@isham-research.co.uk
 
Posts: n/a

Default IKEA? Spamming? - 04-05-2006 , 05:37 PM






Just had a new userid created on http://www.quattroforum.com, where I'm
an administrator.

Userid "IKEAGiftCenter" - with a URI of http://www.ikea.com/

Wouldn't have thought an international company like IKEA needed to
stoop quite this low.


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old   
Paul B
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: IKEA? Spamming? - 04-05-2006 , 05:42 PM






On 5 Apr 2006 14:37:43 -0700, phil (AT) isham-research (DOT) co.uk wrote:

Quote:
Just had a new userid created on http://www. quattroforum.com, where I'm
an administrator.

Userid "IKEAGiftCenter" - with a URI of http://www .ikea.com/

Wouldn't have thought an international company like IKEA needed to
stoop quite this low.
Or it could be a competitor trying to give them a bad name ?
--
http://www.FirstPeople.us/
Free American Indian Clipart, Wallpaper Pictures, Legends, Wisdom, Treaties and agreements, American Indian jewelry for sale. Safe Surf Rated

----== Posted via Newsfeeds.Com - Unlimited-Unrestricted-Secure Usenet News==----
http://www.newsfeeds.com The #1 Newsgroup Service in the World! 120,000+ Newsgroups
----= East and West-Coast Server Farms - Total Privacy via Encryption =----


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old   
Borek
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: IKEA? Spamming? - 04-05-2006 , 05:45 PM



On Wed, 05 Apr 2006 23:42:03 +0200, Paul B <lamewolf2004 (AT) yahoo (DOT) com> wrote:

Quote:
Just had a new userid created on http://www. quattroforum.com, where I'm
an administrator.

Userid "IKEAGiftCenter" - with a URI of http://www .ikea.com/

Wouldn't have thought an international company like IKEA needed to
stoop quite this low.

Or it could be a competitor trying to give them a bad name ?
Or they outsourced web promotion.

There is a very interesting (although short) thread in aww - "Invoicing
Spammers - interesting results". Good reading

Best,
Borek
--
http://www.chembuddy.com
http://www.ph-meter.info


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old   
canadafred
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: IKEA? Spamming? - 04-05-2006 , 07:18 PM



<phil (AT) isham-research (DOT) co.uk> wrote


Quote:
Just had a new userid created on http://www.quattroforum.com, where I'm
an administrator.

Userid "IKEAGiftCenter" - with a URI of http://www.ikea.com/

Wouldn't have thought an international company like IKEA needed to
stoop quite this low.
internet V101.06x

If it doesn't sound right, it probably isn't right.

What a name means to one user could mean something completely different to
another.

This seems like a great opportunity for an anagram. For all you know, IKEA
could represent the excessively boasting Online marketing team at www
IKickedEveryAss com/GiftCenter ( IKEA in this meaning being assumed
fictitious ).


--
Fred
http://canadian-web-site-promotion.blogspot.com/

+ ======================================== +
A friendly notice to a GoogleGrouper :
Before replying to Usenet messages, please click Show Options
and use that Reply link. This will facilitate a way for you to post
your message here using better Usenet etiquette.
+ ======================================== +




Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old   
Andrew Heenan
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: IKEA? Spamming? - 04-05-2006 , 07:48 PM



<phil (AT) isham-research (DOT) co.uk> wrote

Quote:
Just had a new userid created on http://www.quattro-forum.com, where I'm
an administrator.
Userid "IKEAGiftCenter" - with a URI of http://www.ikea.com/
Wouldn't have thought an international company like IKEA needed to
stoop quite this low.
As an administrator, you'd know if it was genuine or not.
And you'd know to give a useful URL, not your home page.

So who's spamming?


--

Andrew Heenan
Editor
http://www.seo2seo.com/
Directory of Quality Directories
"I Don't Know A Lot - But I Know Spam When I See It"




Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old   
John Bokma
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: IKEA? Spamming? - 04-05-2006 , 09:45 PM



"Andrew Heenan" <andrew4 (AT) heenan (DOT) net> wrote:

Quote:
phil (AT) isham-research (DOT) co.uk> wrote in message
news:1144273063.375401.63200 (AT) g10g2000cwb (DOT) googlegroups.com...
Just had a new userid created on http://www.quattro-forum.com, where
I'm an administrator.
Userid "IKEAGiftCenter" - with a URI of http://www.ikea.com/
Wouldn't have thought an international company like IKEA needed to
stoop quite this low.

As an administrator, you'd know if it was genuine or not.
And you'd know to give a useful URL, not your home page.

So who's spamming?
Read again. You probably don't run a board, without a captcha I get
almost daily new "users". I even get them with captcha, but less fast.

--
John Freelance Perl programmer: http://castleamber.com/
Firefox Keywords: http://johnbokma.com/firefox/keymarks-explained.html


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old   
phil@isham-research.co.uk
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: IKEA? Spamming? - 04-07-2006 , 11:49 AM



Quote:
So who's spamming?

Read again. You probably don't run a board, without a captcha I get almost daily new "users". I even get them with captcha, but less fast.
Just recently all with "mail.ru" email addresses. They used to be
mainly porn, but some carry URIs for halfway respectable companies.
IKEA is the biggest name yet.



Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old   
Gordowey
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: IKEA? Spamming? - 04-07-2006 , 04:44 PM



As an Administrator you should keep that kind of information
private...not publish in forums like this one..


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old   
John Bokma
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: IKEA? Spamming? - 04-07-2006 , 04:50 PM



"Gordowey" <albertoiriarte (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:

Quote:
As an Administrator you should keep that kind of information
private...not publish in forums like this one..
Hello top poster, what kind of information?

--
John Experienced (web) developer: http://castleamber.com/

Firefox RSS: http://johnbokma.com/firefox/rss-and...bookmarks.html


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old   
tonnie
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: IKEA? Spamming? - 04-07-2006 , 04:55 PM



John Bokma wrote:
Quote:
"Gordowey" <albertoiriarte (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:


As an Administrator you should keep that kind of information
private...not publish in forums like this one..


Hello top poster, what kind of information?
He is comming from Google groups John.

You might as well talk to an alien.


--
Website design:
http://vision2form.nl/websitedesign/
Search engine optimization:
http://vision2form.nl/websitedesign/being-found.html


Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.