HighDots Forums  

HTML Experts, Question for You

Search Engine Optimization Discussion about SEO/Search Engine Optimization (alt.internet.search-engines)


Discuss HTML Experts, Question for You in the Search Engine Optimization forum.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
Mark Shell
 
Posts: n/a

Default HTML Experts, Question for You - 05-23-2005 , 07:27 PM






Someone is linking to me using this code (my site is
http://www.language-usa.com):
=======================================
<p class="text" align="left"><a href="http://www.language-usa.com/
"
onclick="window.open('http://www.language-usa.com','Mark','menubar=yes,scrollbars=yes,resiza ble=yes,width=640,height=325');
return false;"><font color="#005984"><i>•</i></font>
<b>Russian Translation USA. Russian-English Translations</b> -
Translation
services in all major areas between the Russian and English
languages.</a></p>
<p class="text" align="left"></p>
=======================================
By looking at the code, am I really getting any PR from them, or are they
trying to trick me (not sure).

Thanks!



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old   
Borek
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: HTML Experts, Question for You - 05-23-2005 , 07:36 PM






On Tue, 24 May 2005 01:27:02 +0200, Mark Shell
<markashell (AT) REMOVEearthlink (DOT) net> wrote:

Quote:
By looking at the code, am I really getting any PR from them, or are they
trying to trick me (not sure).
Seems OK to me, but I am not an expert either.

Best,
Borek
--
http://www.chembuddy.com - chemical calculators for labs and education
BATE - Base Acid Titration and Equilibria
program for pH calculations
CASC - Concentration and Solution Calculator
program for solution preparation and concentration conversions


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old   
SEO Dave
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: HTML Experts, Question for You - 05-23-2005 , 07:55 PM



On Mon, 23 May 2005 23:27:02 GMT, "Mark Shell"
<markashell (AT) REMOVEearthlink (DOT) net> wrote:

Quote:
Someone is linking to me using this code (my site is
http://www.language-usa.com):
=======================================
p class="text" align="left"><a href="http://www.language-usa.com/
"
onclick="window.open('http://www.language-usa.com','Mark','menubar=yes,scrollbars=yes,resiza ble=yes,width=640,height=325');
return false;"><font color="#005984"><i>•</i></font
b>Russian Translation USA. Russian-English Translations</b> -
Translation
services in all major areas between the Russian and English
languages.</a></p
p class="text" align="left"></p
=======================================
By looking at the code, am I really getting any PR from them, or are they
trying to trick me (not sure).

Thanks!

That link passes PR/benefit so it's fine. All they have done is added
a javascript so rather than opening in a window of what ever size is
set as default on the users system you get the settings above (mainly
the width and height are set). It's the sort of javascript webmasters
use because they can!

Can also be used to prevent PR transfer if the
href="http://www.domain.com" bit isn't to your site. What you see at
window.open('http://www.language-usa.com' is not the domain Google
reads as the page it is linking to (unless it's the same as the href
bit).

This isn't what is happening here, but if you come across this or they
change it in the future you'll know why.

Anyway, Google sees the link as

<a href="http://www.language-usa.com/"><font
color="#005984"><i>•</i></font><b>Russian Translation USA.
Russian-English Translations</b> - Translation services in all major
areas between the Russian and English languages.</a>

Which is a fair chunk of keyword rich anchor text as well.

David
--
Free Search Engine Optimization Tutorial
http://www.seo-gold.com/tutorial/


Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.