![]() | |
![]() |
| | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
#1
| |||
| |||
|
#2
| |||
| |||
|
|
This search term is number one on my searched key phrases: "contact or mail or email or phone or fax or tel site www.nerdlance.com" Has anyone else seen this? Are people just looking to contact me, or looking for forms to try to run some spamming scripts on? |
#3
| |||
| |||
|
|
In article <IemdnTBzFrnSCDfeRVn-ig (AT) comcast (DOT) com>, dustin.davis (AT) gmail (DOT) com says... This search term is number one on my searched key phrases: "contact or mail or email or phone or fax or tel site www.nerdlance.com" Has anyone else seen this? Are people just looking to contact me, or looking for forms to try to run some spamming scripts on? Sounds legitimate. They may want to know who owns the site, but don't know how to find a whois search. When spammers are looking for abuse-opportunities, they will request certain filenames. There will be a scan for common/default .cgi and .html files related to form-mail, BBSs/forums, Tell-A-Friend, etc. I think that there may also be some specifically Microsoft IIS features, which may be randomly requested even if you are really on *nix/Apache. The requests won't come through a search engine, though. Their scanner will just use your domain plus a list of standard paths. BTW, I tried to view your site a couple times, but it made Mozilla crash. Maybe that is why people want to contact you? |
#4
| |||
| |||
|
|
Dustin wrote: This search term is number one on my searched key phrases: "contact or mail or email or phone or fax or tel site www.nerdlance.com" Has anyone else seen this? Are people just looking to contact me, or looking for forms to try to run some spamming scripts on? Well, this phrase brings up no results in Google. So, where do they come from with this search? Also, if you are concerned about someone using this phrase to do Google penetration test on your site, it is too detailed a phrase for the purpose. Someone would have to actually be on the site to know if your "contact us" page contains that phrase and that defeats the purpose of using Google for the test(hack). This is not to say that it is not a phony referrer that someone is giving you while scraping your site, so if it's coming up over and over, I would try to catch the IP it is coming from and then decide what to do with it. If it becomes annoying, you could just block the IP. |
#5
| |||
| |||
|
|
BTW, I tried to view your site a couple times, but it made Mozilla crash. Maybe that is why people want to contact you? |
#6
| |||
| |||
|
|
__/ [Antipodean Bucket Farmer] on Thursday 22 December 2005 21:36 \__ In article <IemdnTBzFrnSCDfeRVn-ig (AT) comcast (DOT) com>, dustin.davis (AT) gmail (DOT) com says... This search term is number one on my searched key phrases: "contact or mail or email or phone or fax or tel site www.nerdlance.com" Has anyone else seen this? Are people just looking to contact me, or looking for forms to try to run some spamming scripts on? Sounds legitimate. They may want to know who owns the site, but don't know how to find a whois search. When spammers are looking for abuse-opportunities, they will request certain filenames. There will be a scan for common/default .cgi and .html files related to form-mail, BBSs/forums, Tell-A-Friend, etc. I think that there may also be some specifically Microsoft IIS features, which may be randomly requested even if you are really on *nix/Apache. The requests won't come through a search engine, though. Their scanner will just use your domain plus a list of standard paths. BTW, I tried to view your site a couple times, but it made Mozilla crash. Maybe that is why people want to contact you? Good point, but neither Mozilla nor Firefox seem to crash when I open the front page ( http://www.nerdlance.com/ ). A few days ago I contacted some- one whose popular site made Firefox crash (tried from different comput- ers). I had to guess the E-mail address, which I fortunately I did right. It bounced after the first guess though. Got it right the second time. Roy |
#7
| |||
| |||
|
|
Roy Schestowitz wrote: __/ [Antipodean Bucket Farmer] on Thursday 22 December 2005 21:36 \__ In article <IemdnTBzFrnSCDfeRVn-ig (AT) comcast (DOT) com>, dustin.davis (AT) gmail (DOT) com says... This search term is number one on my searched key phrases: "contact or mail or email or phone or fax or tel site www.nerdlance.com" Has anyone else seen this? Are people just looking to contact me, or looking for forms to try to run some spamming scripts on? Sounds legitimate. They may want to know who owns the site, but don't know how to find a whois search. When spammers are looking for abuse-opportunities, they will request certain filenames. There will be a scan for common/default .cgi and .html files related to form-mail, BBSs/forums, Tell-A-Friend, etc. I think that there may also be some specifically Microsoft IIS features, which may be randomly requested even if you are really on *nix/Apache. The requests won't come through a search engine, though. Their scanner will just use your domain plus a list of standard paths. BTW, I tried to view your site a couple times, but it made Mozilla crash. Maybe that is why people want to contact you? Good point, but neither Mozilla nor Firefox seem to crash when I open the front page ( http://www.nerdlance.com/ ). A few days ago I contacted some- one whose popular site made Firefox crash (tried from different comput- ers). I had to guess the E-mail address, which I fortunately I did right. It bounced after the first guess though. Got it right the second time. Roy Well I have a contact form link at the bottom of every page. Is that not obvious enough? |
#8
| |||
| |||
|
|
__/ [Dustin] on Saturday 24 December 2005 13:09 \__ Roy Schestowitz wrote: __/ [Antipodean Bucket Farmer] on Thursday 22 December 2005 21:36 \__ In article <IemdnTBzFrnSCDfeRVn-ig (AT) comcast (DOT) com>, dustin.davis (AT) gmail (DOT) com says... This search term is number one on my searched key phrases: "contact or mail or email or phone or fax or tel site www.nerdlance.com" Has anyone else seen this? Are people just looking to contact me, or looking for forms to try to run some spamming scripts on? Sounds legitimate. They may want to know who owns the site, but don't know how to find a whois search. When spammers are looking for abuse-opportunities, they will request certain filenames. There will be a scan for common/default .cgi and .html files related to form-mail, BBSs/forums, Tell-A-Friend, etc. I think that there may also be some specifically Microsoft IIS features, which may be randomly requested even if you are really on *nix/Apache. The requests won't come through a search engine, though. Their scanner will just use your domain plus a list of standard paths. BTW, I tried to view your site a couple times, but it made Mozilla crash. Maybe that is why people want to contact you? Good point, but neither Mozilla nor Firefox seem to crash when I open the front page ( http://www.nerdlance.com/ ). A few days ago I contacted some- one whose popular site made Firefox crash (tried from different comput- ers). I had to guess the E-mail address, which I fortunately I did right. It bounced after the first guess though. Got it right the second time. Roy Well I have a contact form link at the bottom of every page. Is that not obvious enough? Explicit form? That'll invite spam in due time. The level of daily spam will grow linearly (some would say exponentially) if you put it in each page rather than link to a central contact page. Also, what if you needed to change your E-mail address? Change and replace applied to all files? Duplication is not recommended unless you use Server Side Includes (SSI) to append a footer. Best wishes, Roy |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |