HighDots Forums  

OT: Who do you report mail being spoofed as macromedia.com to?

Macromedia Dreamweaver Macromedia Dreamweaver Discussions (macromedia.dreamweaver)


Discuss OT: Who do you report mail being spoofed as macromedia.com to? in the Macromedia Dreamweaver forum.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
Sam Poikail
 
Posts: n/a

Default OT: Who do you report mail being spoofed as macromedia.com to? - 06-29-2004 , 10:28 PM






I just got mail reported as coming from wish-flash (AT) macromedia (DOT) com. It has a
binary attachment, "important.scr" (screensaver) that was waiting to launch
if I was silly enough to open then message. What email, phone number, etc
do I use to report this?

Cheers,
Sam



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old   
Scott Fegette
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: OT: Who do you report mail being spoofed as macromedia.com to? - 06-29-2004 , 11:20 PM






In article <cbt84l$85e$1 (AT) forums (DOT) macromedia.com>,
indigo_wolf (AT) SPAMBITEShotmail (DOT) com says...
Quote:
I just got mail reported as coming from wish-flash (AT) macromedia (DOT) com. It has a
binary attachment, "important.scr" (screensaver) that was waiting to launch
if I was silly enough to open then message. What email, phone number, etc
do I use to report this?
Hi, Sam-
I'll pass this along to our network folks, but in reality there's not a
lot that can be done to defeat spoofed email 'from' addresses in spam
outside of trying to trace back the IP and hope you can catch the
culprit.

For what it's worth, my own email address (not retyping it here for
obvious reasons... lol) has been maliciously used several times in this
way- incredibly frustrating to see your own email address on spam
blasts, I can tell you ...

best-

Scott
Macromedia, Inc.


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old   
Sam Poikail
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: OT: Who do you report mail being spoofed as macromedia.com to? - 06-30-2004 , 12:44 AM



Thanks Scott.

I figured as much, but thought someone might like a "heads up" as it is the
first time I have seen something "supposedly" coming from MM.

It's just keeps getting weirder out there. ;o)

Cheers,
Sam

"Scott Fegette" <supportinfo (AT) macromedia (DOT) com> wrote

Quote:
In article <cbt84l$85e$1 (AT) forums (DOT) macromedia.com>,
indigo_wolf (AT) SPAMBITEShotmail (DOT) com says...
I just got mail reported as coming from wish-flash (AT) macromedia (DOT) com. It
has a
binary attachment, "important.scr" (screensaver) that was waiting to
launch
if I was silly enough to open then message. What email, phone number,
etc
do I use to report this?

Hi, Sam-
I'll pass this along to our network folks, but in reality there's not a
lot that can be done to defeat spoofed email 'from' addresses in spam
outside of trying to trace back the IP and hope you can catch the
culprit.

For what it's worth, my own email address (not retyping it here for
obvious reasons... lol) has been maliciously used several times in this
way- incredibly frustrating to see your own email address on spam
blasts, I can tell you ...

best-

Scott
Macromedia, Inc.



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old   
Joe Makowiec
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: OT: Who do you report mail being spoofed as macromedia.com to? - 06-30-2004 , 07:07 AM



On 29 Jun 2004 in macromedia.dreamweaver, Sam Poikail wrote:

Quote:
I just got mail reported as coming from wish-flash (AT) macromedia (DOT) com.
It has a binary attachment, "important.scr" (screensaver) that was
waiting to launch if I was silly enough to open then message. What
email, phone number, etc do I use to report this?
The odds are it's a virus. If you can get to the raw headers of the e-
mail, run the message through SpamCop (http://www.spamcop.net/). You
can't report it through them, but they will give you the source of the
virus, plus an address to report it to. If that doesn't get some action,
try calling Tech Support at the originating ISP and see if you can't get
it stopped.

More information on finding out where e-mail originates:

http://www.stopspam.org/email/headers.html

--
Joe Makowiec
http://makowiec.net/
Email: http://makowiec.net/email.php


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old   
Scott Fegette
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: OT: Who do you report mail being spoofed as macromedia.com to? - 06-30-2004 , 08:22 AM



In article <cbtg1d$6ae$1 (AT) forums (DOT) macromedia.com>,
indigo_wolf (AT) SPAMBITEShotmail (DOT) com says...
Quote:
Thanks Scott.
I figured as much, but thought someone might like a "heads up" as it is the
first time I have seen something "supposedly" coming from MM.
No problem- appreciate the heads-up, Sam! With the amount of spam
flying around these days it's getting harder and harder to separate the
wheat from the chaff. Outside of HTML/rich text image content, it's
reasonably safe to say that any 'bulk mail' from Macromedia should not
contain file attachments- so if you see one, approach with extreme
caution...

Quote:
It's just keeps getting weirder out there. ;o)
Oh, I hear you there!
It's reasonably disturbing that in order to keep my inbox remotely
manageable, I need both client AND server-side spam filters in place
these days... :P

-Scott
Macromedia, Inc.


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old   
Durwood Edwards
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: OT: Who do you report mail being spoofed as macromedia.com to? - 06-30-2004 , 09:25 AM



I once received a spoofed virus-bearing email from me at one adderss to me
at another of my addresses.
Durwood
"Scott Fegette" <supportinfo (AT) macromedia (DOT) com> wrote

Quote:
In article <cbt84l$85e$1 (AT) forums (DOT) macromedia.com>,
indigo_wolf (AT) SPAMBITEShotmail (DOT) com says...
I just got mail reported as coming from wish-flash (AT) macromedia (DOT) com. It
has a
binary attachment, "important.scr" (screensaver) that was waiting to
launch
if I was silly enough to open then message. What email, phone number,
etc
do I use to report this?

Hi, Sam-
I'll pass this along to our network folks, but in reality there's not a
lot that can be done to defeat spoofed email 'from' addresses in spam
outside of trying to trace back the IP and hope you can catch the
culprit.

For what it's worth, my own email address (not retyping it here for
obvious reasons... lol) has been maliciously used several times in this
way- incredibly frustrating to see your own email address on spam
blasts, I can tell you ...

best-

Scott
Macromedia, Inc.



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old   
Mad Dog
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: OT: Who do you report mail being spoofed as macromedia.com to? - 06-30-2004 , 11:34 AM



Did you buy the body part enlarger since the offer came from such an
impeccable source??



Durwood Edwards wrote:
Quote:
I once received a spoofed virus-bearing email from me at one adderss
to me at another of my addresses.
Durwood
"Scott Fegette" <supportinfo (AT) macromedia (DOT) com> wrote in message
news:MPG.1b4bfb96ae7f3d09989844 (AT) forums (DOT) macromedia.com...
In article <cbt84l$85e$1 (AT) forums (DOT) macromedia.com>,
indigo_wolf (AT) SPAMBITEShotmail (DOT) com says...
I just got mail reported as coming from wish-flash (AT) macromedia (DOT) com.
It has a binary attachment, "important.scr" (screensaver) that was
waiting to launch if I was silly enough to open then message. What
email, phone number, etc do I use to report this?

Hi, Sam-
I'll pass this along to our network folks, but in reality there's
not a lot that can be done to defeat spoofed email 'from' addresses
in spam outside of trying to trace back the IP and hope you can
catch the culprit.

For what it's worth, my own email address (not retyping it here for
obvious reasons... lol) has been maliciously used several times in
this way- incredibly frustrating to see your own email address on
spam blasts, I can tell you ...

best-

Scott
Macromedia, Inc.



Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old   
Mick White
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: OT: Who do you report mail being spoofed as macromedia.com to? - 06-30-2004 , 11:40 AM



I've got spam from "durwoode @ mickweb.com".
Mick

Durwood Edwards wrote:

Quote:
I once received a spoofed virus-bearing email from me at one adderss to me
at another of my addresses.
Durwood
"Scott Fegette" <supportinfo (AT) macromedia (DOT) com> wrote in message
news:MPG.1b4bfb96ae7f3d09989844 (AT) forums (DOT) macromedia.com...

In article <cbt84l$85e$1 (AT) forums (DOT) macromedia.com>,
indigo_wolf (AT) SPAMBITEShotmail (DOT) com says...

I just got mail reported as coming from wish-flash (AT) macromedia (DOT) com. It

has a

binary attachment, "important.scr" (screensaver) that was waiting to

launch

if I was silly enough to open then message. What email, phone number,

etc

do I use to report this?

Hi, Sam-
I'll pass this along to our network folks, but in reality there's not a
lot that can be done to defeat spoofed email 'from' addresses in spam
outside of trying to trace back the IP and hope you can catch the
culprit.

For what it's worth, my own email address (not retyping it here for
obvious reasons... lol) has been maliciously used several times in this
way- incredibly frustrating to see your own email address on spam
blasts, I can tell you ...

best-

Scott
Macromedia, Inc.




Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.