HighDots Forums  

Busy Russian scammer

Macromedia Dreamweaver Macromedia Dreamweaver Discussions (macromedia.dreamweaver)


Discuss Busy Russian scammer in the Macromedia Dreamweaver forum.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
Frozen Carp
 
Posts: n/a

Default Busy Russian scammer - 07-14-2003 , 10:32 PM






Some of my sites that use PayPal have been targeted by an industrious (ahem)
Russian scammer lately. He scours the net to get PayPal email addresses from
PayPal carts, then fakes a request to verify info, requesting passwords, CC
numbers, etc. The link goes to a fake PayPal page on a disposable account at
any number of webhosts. The "paypal" appears in the link URL but the true
address is disguised amidst a slew of upper and lower case letters.

You may want to remind your clients (especially the naive ones) to never
provide any info from such links, but to always login to PayPal directly. If
their accounts need updating, that's the first page that they will reach
after login.

If you open one of these scam emails in Oulook Express, the top of the
window will display the Windows version of that sender, in this case,
Cyrillic. Well, I said he was industrious, not a genius :~)

--
Corey Eiges
http://Navbars.net
support (AT) thecheeseNavbars (DOT) net (cut the cheese)
^^ Free Navbars & Navbar store
^^ Free Registry Utilities for UltraDev & Dreamweaver
^^ Password Recovery for UltraDev & Dreamweaver




Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old   
Showjumper
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Busy Russian scammer - 07-14-2003 , 10:37 PM






If they put this effort into something legal, they'd be rich.
"Frozen Carp" <corey (AT) thecheeseYouNeedaWebstore (DOT) com> wrote

Quote:
Some of my sites that use PayPal have been targeted by an industrious
(ahem)
Russian scammer lately. He scours the net to get PayPal email addresses
from
PayPal carts, then fakes a request to verify info, requesting passwords,
CC
numbers, etc. The link goes to a fake PayPal page on a disposable account
at
any number of webhosts. The "paypal" appears in the link URL but the true
address is disguised amidst a slew of upper and lower case letters.

You may want to remind your clients (especially the naive ones) to never
provide any info from such links, but to always login to PayPal directly.
If
their accounts need updating, that's the first page that they will reach
after login.

If you open one of these scam emails in Oulook Express, the top of the
window will display the Windows version of that sender, in this case,
Cyrillic. Well, I said he was industrious, not a genius :~)

--
Corey Eiges
http://Navbars.net
support (AT) thecheeseNavbars (DOT) net (cut the cheese)
^^ Free Navbars & Navbar store
^^ Free Registry Utilities for UltraDev & Dreamweaver
^^ Password Recovery for UltraDev & Dreamweaver






Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.